Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Bryan Earns MASCAC Player of the Year Honors, Animashaun Named First Team

Bryan Earns MASCAC Player of the Year Honors, Animashaun Named First Team

Salem, Mass. -- Salem State junior Sean Bryan was voted the 2018-19 Massachusetts State Collegiate Athletic Conference (MASCAC) Men's Basketball Player of the Year and headlines the All-Conference team which is voted on by the seven conference head coaches.

Bryan, who scored his 1,000th career point earlier this season, enjoyed a tremendous junior campaign, leading the conference in scoring (25.4 ppg) – which ranked eighth nationally--, assists (145) and total points (686), which ranked sixth nationally and third all-time for a season in school history. The Lowell, Mass. native was third in the league in steals with 57 and fourth in rebounding (8.0 rpg) while helping Salem State to the MASCAC regular season and tournament championship.    

Junior Hakeem Animashaun also earned All-MASCAC First Team honors while head coach Chris Harvey was named the Champion's Choice Men's Basketball Coach of the Year. 

Animashaun, who played his freshman season at Salem State before transferring, returned in a dominant role this year. The junior from Dedham, Mass. led the league in rebounding (11.5 rpg) and blocked shots (46), His 299 total rebounds are ninth all-time in a season in school history while his 191 defensive rebounds ranks fourth. Animashaun was fourth in the nation in double-doubles with 19.    

Coach Harvey earned his fifth Coach of the Year honors, leading Salem State to an 18-9 record and 10-2 conference mark, and NCAA Tournament bid after capturing his third MASCAC Post-Season Tournament championship and sixth regular season title.   

Joining Bryan and Animashaun on the 2018-19 All-Conference First Team are Jauch Green, Jr. from Westfield State, Manny Payton from Framingham State, and Nicholas Tracy from Fitchburg State.

On the Second Team are Ryan Carney from Bridgewater State, Marcus Collins from Westfield State, Tyler Dion from Worcester State, Shaun McCarthy from Worcester State, and Rayshon Ward from Bridgewater State.

The Massachusetts State Collegiate Athletic Conference, the nation's first Division III men's and women's playing conference, has a rich and storied tradition of competitive success while celebrating excellence in the classroom.  MASCAC core member schools include Bridgewater State University, Fitchburg State University, Framingham State University, MCLA, Massachusetts Maritime Academy, Salem State University, Westfield State University and Worcester State University.  Two other institutions, the University of Massachusetts Dartmouth and Plymouth State University, are affiliate members of the conference in the sports of football and men's ice hockey, while Western Connecticut State University joined the conference as an affiliate member in football beginning in 2013.