Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

2018 Little East Conference Women's Tennis Tournament

2018 Little East Conference Women's Tennis Tournament

PAWTUCKET, R.I. – Following an undefeated regular season, Rhode Island College will be the top seed in this week's Little East Conference Women's Tennis Championship Tournament. The announcement was made by the Conference following the conclusion conference action Tuesday.


Plymouth State will be the No. 2 seed after going 8-1 in conference play, and along with the Anchorwomen receives a First Round bye. Third-seeded Salem State (8-2) will host a First Round match against sixth-seeded Southern Maine (4-5), while fourth-seeded UMass Dartmouth (6-3) will host fourth-seeded Bridgewater State (4-5). Both opening round matches will take place Wednesday, October 17.


RIC is the defending LEC tournament champion, and has lost just one match since the start of the 2017 season, going 32-1 with its lone setback coming in last year's NCAA Division III tournament. The Anchorwomen are in search of their eight LEC tournament title. Plymouth State looks to claim its fourth tournament title, the last of which was in 2014.


Salem State is in search of its second LEC tournament title after winning its first in 2011, while UMass Dartmouth will attempt to be the last team standing for the sixth time, most recently winning the tournament in 2015. Bridgewater State has played for the LEC title in 10 of the previous 11 years and claimed five titles (2007, 2010, 2012-13, 2015), while Southern Maine is in the tournament for the first time since 2013 and is in search of its first tournament crown since 2002.


2018 Little East Conference Women's Tennis Championship Tournament


First Round - Wednesday, October 17

No. 4 UMass Dartmouth vs. No. 5 Bridgewater State, 2:30 p.m.

No. 3 Salem State vs. No. 6 Southern Maine, 3:00 p.m.


Final Four, Hosted by Rhode Island College


Semifinals - Friday, October 19

No. 2 Plymouth State vs. No. 3/6 Winner, 11:00 a.m.

No. 1 Rhode Island College vs. No. 4/5 Winner, 2:00 p.m.


Championship Match - Saturday, October 20
Semifinal Winners, 11:00 a.m.